Death Cab For Cutie – ‘Codes And Keys’ // ALBUM REVIEW

I wasn’t too convinced on a first listen but DCFC have done it again, there are a few tracks I must say I dislike and this is definitely not one of the better Death Cab albums but it’s still good and I am a fan of it. But anyway here we go track by track…

‘Home Is A Fire’, yeah it’s okay. Nothing more. Nothing special, The beginning is the best part but when it bursts into “colour” which is the same tune just without a vocal effect, it sort of reminds me of a limp ‘We Have The Facts And We’re Voting Yes’  track. I mean it gets a little bit more exciting by the end but thats pretty much it, not a fan. ‘Codes & Keys’ is good, it is interesting different from Death Cab’s usual stuff and this makes it memorable. The strings are enchanting and it just makes you smile and this is what I was hoping for from this album unfortunately not all songs are this entertaining. ‘Some Boys’ is another ‘Home Is A Fire’ kind of song, it is the same thing over and over and it depresses me that Death Cab have lost their imagination with this track which could have been a lot better. The Vocal line changes finally its so refreshing and you are filled with joy but then you are disappointed again to find out its the end of the song, but don’t get me wrong this isn’t awful it does get stuck in your head and it does grown on you, just it unfortunately doesn’t change very much and is a little bit more boring than I anticipated. ‘Doors Unlocked And Open’ FINALLY A LONG SONG. Most of DCFC’s long songs are brilliant, ‘Transatlanticism’, ‘No Joy In Mudville’, ‘Scientist Studies’ and of course ‘I Will Possess Your Heart’. This isn’t an exception it is a lot more interesting, edgey and catchy. This is probably because they have space to develop ideas so they do, their is a guitar riff finally when before most of the songs are pretty absent of dominant guitar lines. This is definitely one of the better tracks. ‘You’re A Tourist’ is brilliant, like older Death Cab it has a strong impact from the start and being the single it has an excuse for repetition which the other tracks do not. The guitar line is memorable catchy and just ideal for the song, I have no complaints. ‘Unobstructed Views’ is the longest track on the album and is interesting, soft, beautiful and reminds me of ‘No Joy In Mudville’  an ‘Transatlanticism’, it is a good track and is slightly minimalist in places just like ‘Transatlanticism’. ‘Monday Morning’ is another decant track, catchy, interesting and IMAGINATIVE. It’s probably one of my favourite tracks from the album, it has a certain happiness to it which makes it stand out a lot from the earlier tracks. ‘Portable Television’ is again quite happy and reminds me of ‘Diamond And A Tether’ off of their ‘Open Door – EP’ which stuck in my mind immediately. That is probably why I was attracted to this, it’s good, it’s ruled by jolly piano and is a refreshing part of the album. ‘Underneath The Sycamore’ is another of my favourite tracks. Led by guitar this track really does show me the Death Cab I love, and I think this is my favourite ‘Codes and Keys’ track everything about it is what I hoped for in this album. ‘St. Peter’s Cathedral’ is pretty good as well, the humming/ acappella background tune is a strong hook to this track. Finally ‘Stay Young, Go Dancing’ which is just awesome, happy perfect end to a good album.

Leave a Reply

